SCORE Journal - The Official Publication of SCORE Off-Road Racing

Issue link:

Contents of this Issue


Page 25 of 40

SCORE 2020 AWARDS NIGHT 26 43 DESERT RACERS EARN 2020 ROD HALL SCORE MILESTONE AWARDS PRESENTED BY VP RACING FUELS A fter the dust settled from both races in the pandemic-abbreviated two-race 2020 SCORE World Desert Championship, 43 of the toughest racers in the world have earned 2020 Rod Hall SCORE Milestone Awards, presented by VP Racing Fuels. The 43 racers, from 20 different competition classes in the series for cars, trucks, UTVs, motorcycles and quads, earned their prestigious honors by finishing all 1,291.40 required miles in the 2020 World's Foremost Desert Racing Series. The 2020 SCORE World Desert Championship ended in November 17-22 with the loop-race- record 898.40-mile BFGoodrich Tires 53rd Annual SCORE Baja 1000, presented by 4 Wheel Parts, that started and finished in Ensenada, Baja California, Mexico. SCORE MILESTONE AWARDS SCORE is presenting these prestigious awards to the world's toughest desert racers for the 35th consecutive year. The SCORE Milestone awards will be presented to the car, truck, UTV drivers and motorcycle, quad riders who finish every required mile as official finishers in the 2020 SCORE World Desert Championship. Racers were required to cover 1,291.40 miles in this year's pandemic-abbreviated two-race season. TOP CLASSES The 43 racers who completed all required miles in the Pandemic-abbreviated 2020 SCORE World Desert Championship were from 20 different SCORE racing classes. Leading the way in the chase for 2020 Rod Hall SCORE Milestone Awards are four superlative stallions in the featured SCORE Trophy Truck division, one in the SCORE TT Legend class, six in the unlimited Class 1, four in Trophy Truck Spec, four in Pro UTV FI, three in SCORE Lites, two in Pro UTV NA, and one each in Class 7, Pro UTV Stock, Pro UTV Unlimited, Class 5/1600 and Baja Challenge. In the Moto and Quad classes there were two recipients in Pro Moto Unlimited, two in Pro Moto 50 (riders over 50 years old), one each in Pro Moto 30, Pro Moto Limited, Pro Moto Ironman and Pro Quad. There were also three Sportsman motorcycle honorees and three Sportsman quad winners of the prestigious award. Celebrating its 27th year since it was introduced by SCORE's then-owner Sal Fish in 1994, SCORE Trophy Truck is the sport's marquee racing division for high-tech, 950 horsepower unlimited custom trucks. SCORE COMMENT "SCORE is privileged to honor the world's best desert racing drivers and riders," said Jim Ryan, SCORE Sales and Marketing Director. "For over three decades, SCORE has been very humbled to honor racers with the Rod Hall SCORE Milestone Awards presented by VP Racing Fuels. SCORE racers are the toughest, most rugged racers on the planet. This most prestigious award has become iconic in our sport. It is also a distinct privilege for us to continue to honor the memory of one of the greatest desert racers of all time in having Rod Hall's name on this wonderful award. And we are grateful to VP Racing Fuels for continuing to help honor these racers as well." MCMILLIN MAGIC The three-generation Big Blue M McMillin Racing family of San Diego has five family members who have combined to win a SCORE-record 11 SCORE Milestone Awards. Capturing his fourth Rod Hall SCORE Milestone Award in 2020 was Luke McMillin, San Diego (SCORE Trophy Truck). With two each awards are his father Mark McMillin and his brother Daniel. His cousins Andy McMillin has won twice and Jessica McMillin has earned the honor once. MORE MULTI MILESTONES Led by Santiago Creel, 21 of this year's 43 Rod Hall SCORE Milestone Award winners have now earned this award more than once. A total of 16 of this year's winners are Mexican Nationals, one is from Bolivia and the remaining 26 are all from the United States. With two more wins in 2020, Santiago Creel, of Mexico City, now has earned eight Rod Hall SCORE Milestone Awards in his four years of racing in the SCORE World Desert Championship. Besides the one this year in Trophy Truck Spec, where he was the 2020 season point champion, he also finished second to earn another SCORE Milestone in the Pro Moto Unlimited class this year. 2020 2020 L Presented By 2020 2020 SCORE MILESTONE AWARDS

Articles in this issue

Archives of this issue

view archives of SCORE SPECIALS - 2020AwardsDigitalProgram