SCORE Journal

SCORE Journal Issue - Jan 2017

SCORE Journal - The Official Publication of SCORE Off-Road Racing

Issue link:

Contents of this Issue


Page 34 of 106

49th SCORE Baja 1000 MacCachren Makes It Three In A Row The big news coming out of the 49th SCORE Baja 1000 in November, was the “three-peat” victory of Rob MacCachren. Teaming up with Jason Voss, MacCachren achieved an important milestone that cemented him into SCORE legendary status. Within the Pro Moto Unlimited division, everyone expected Colton Udall to enter and win the division, but Udall injured his shoulder during a pre-run and quickly had to change plans. With the help of Mark Samuels, Daymon Stokie, Justin Jones, and David Kamo, Udall rode off the starting line, handed off the bike and waited for his team to finish in first place. As expected in the Pro Quad division, Javier Robles again dominated the competition at the SCORE Baja 1000, with the help or riders Josh Ros, Felipe Velez, and Jose Meza Velez, who helped Robles sealing his 2016 championship season. Mark Winkelmann, who ran in two classes all year, finished the season undefeated by winning the Pro Moto 50 class, and Pro Moto Limited at this race. This earned Winkelmann the 2016 SCORE championship in both classes. With growing competition in the UTV classes, the SCORE Baja 1000 had Brandon Sims and Justin Kruse pull off an upset win in the Pro UTV FI class. Meanwhile, Derek and Jason Murray finished in sixth place at the SCORE Baja 1000, and earned enough points to win the championship in the class, racking up a great win for Can-Am and proving its Maverick X3 could conquer Baja. It was the same in the UTV NA class, where Rhys Millen entered their only SCORE race this season and win the class that day. Nevertheless, even with a fourth place finish, Alonzo Lopez ended his 2016 season winning the championship in the class. The competition in Class 1 continued to be a race between Ronny and Brad Wilson versus Jaime Huerta Jr. In the battle at the SCORE Baja 1000, it was Ronny Wilson that came in first, followed by Huerta Jr. Yet there was still time for the Huerta team to celebrate as they ended their SCORE season with the Class 1 championship. Likewise in Class 10, the challenge in every race was between Raphael Navarro IV and Todd Winslow. The checkered flag dropped for the race winner Justin Davis, but Navarro IV continued with his second place finishes at every SCORE race this season, earning him the championship spot this year. In 2016, the Trophy Truck Spec class blossomed again with more entries and had several drivers take the win at each race this season. At the finale, Rod Lewis won the SCORE Baja 1000 in the class, but Chad Broughton in his BajaLite Chevy, had enough points throughout the season to earn the championship in the class. While the 2016 season is over, the SCORE World Desert Championship looks to be more spectacular in 2017. Expect veterans in several classes to change-up their vehicles, while new sponsorships and new legends within SCORE are forged, they pave the way towards this growing sport that always puts man and machine against the toughest terrain in the world. The full rundown on the 49th SCORE Baja 1000 race is available in the December 2016 issue of SCORE Journal. In the meantime, SCORE fans can watch the races as the re-air on the CBS Sports Network. For more information, including a full programming schedule and how to get CBS Sports Network, go to

Articles in this issue

Archives of this issue

view archives of SCORE Journal - SCORE Journal Issue - Jan 2017