SCORE Journal

SCORE Journal Issue - OCTOBER 2017

SCORE Journal - The Official Publication of SCORE Off-Road Racing

Issue link:

Contents of this Issue


Page 60 of 225

1973 • Mickey Thompson takes over the Mexican 1000 Baja race and Forms SCORE. 1974 • Sal Fish takes control of SCORE and runs it for the next 38 Years • Only year that the SCORE Baja 1000 did not occur due to U.S. Oil Crisis 1975 • Malcom Smith first to win SCORE Baja 1000 Overall on four-wheels (with Bud Feldkamp in a Funco VW), and simultaneously on a motorcycle. 1968 Larry Minor, first person to win the Baja 1000 overall back to back in 1968-'69. 1969 Rod Hall (with Larry Minor) wins the SCORE Baja 1000 Overall, and is the the only racer to compete in all 49 SCORE Baja 1000 races. 1972 • Bob Steinbereger was introduced to the Baja 1000 by Bill Stroppe and went on to become the "Weatherman" heading race communications SCORE JOURNAL 61

Articles in this issue

Archives of this issue

view archives of SCORE Journal - SCORE Journal Issue - OCTOBER 2017