SCORE Journal

SCORE Journal - January 2018

SCORE Journal - The Official Publication of SCORE Off-Road Racing

Issue link:

Contents of this Issue


Page 93 of 95

GOING THE DISTANCE A Total of 31 racers earn 2017 SCORE Milestone Awards By SCORE Staff Photos By Get Some Photo Racing across 2,057.97 dusty, challenging, grueling and unforgiving miles, is not an easy task, but that’s the combined total miles of every race during the 2017 SCORE World Desert Championship season. There are some competitors who complete every race and finish every mile to earn a prestigious SCORE Milestone Award. “SCORE is privileged to honor the world’s best desert racing drivers and riders,” said Roger Norman, SCORE CEO/President. “For over three decades, SCORE has been very humbled to honor racers with the SCORE Milestone Awards. SCORE racers are the toughest, most rugged racers on the planet. This most prestigious award has become iconic in our sport.” For the 2017 SCORE racing season, there were a total of 31 dedicated racers who have earned this award from 16 different classes that include cars, trucks, UTVs, motorcycles and quads. At the SCORE Awards Night, these racers received their recognition for every Baja mile and added their names to the record books. The 2017 SCORE World Desert Championship included the 31st SCORE San Felipe 250, the 49th SCORE Baja 500, the Tijuana 21st SCORE Desert Challenge and the 50th BFGoodrich Tires SCORE Baja 1000. 2017 SCORE Milestone Award Recipients (31 car, truck, UTV, M/C and quad racers who completed all 2,057.97 required miles of the four-race 2017 SCORE World Desert Championship) SCORE Trophy Truck Justin Matney, Bristol, TN Carlos ‘Apdaly’ Lopez, Tecate, MX Cameron Steele, San Clemente, CA Class 1 Brian Wilson, Lakewood, CA Al Torres, El Centro, CA Trophy Truck Spec Elias Hanna, Ensenada, MX Chad Broughton, Scotts Valley, CA Class 10 Broc Dickerson, Brawley, CA Cody Reid, Apple Valley, CA Class 8 Noah Ostanik, Carlsbad, CA Class 1/2-1600 Roberto Romo, Mexicali, MX Oscar Alvarez, McAllen, TX Pro UTV FI Marc Burnett, Lakeside, CA Brandon Schueler, Phoenix Cory Sappington, Peoria, AZ Class 5-1600 Tomas Fernandez, Laredo, TX Pro Moto Unlimited Francisco Arredondo, Guatemala Mark Samuels, Yucca Valley, CA Garrett Poucher, Valencia, CA Pro Moto Limited Fernando Beltran, Ensenada, MX Santiago Creel, Mexico City Pro Moto 30 Ryan Liebelt, Reedley, CA Class 40 Jano Montoya, , Winter Garden, FL Colie Potter, Las Vegas Pro Moto 50 Giovanni Spinali, El Cajon, CA Robert Gates, Victorville, CA Marty Gomez, Randsburg, CA Bill Sekeres, Santa Clarita, CA Pro Moto Ironman Jose Carrasco, Rosarito Beach, MX Pro Moto 60 Donald Lewis, Manchester, CN Pro Quad Said Sanchez, Tijuana, MX

Articles in this issue

Archives of this issue

view archives of SCORE Journal - SCORE Journal - January 2018