Greenhouse Product News

2021 New Varieties Digital Guide

The business magazine for commercial growers

Issue link: https://read.uberflip.com/i/1292860

Contents of this Issue

Navigation

Page 2 of 31

2 NEW VARIETIES 2021 DIGITAL GUIDE GPNMAG.COM Planning for the Best Year Ever FROM THE EDITOR Greenhouse Product News is a publication of a division of Great American Publishing As 2021 not-so-slowly creeps up on us, now is the time to finalize production plans for the upcoming season. While there is nothing that could have prepared us for the whirlwind that 2020 brought us, let us not forget that each year is unpredictable. Each year brings its own set of challenges and opportunities. I recently asked growers how the pandemic has affected their plans for 2021. The majority said, "It hasn't." It seems many of you are entering 2021 with the same mindset you had walking into 2020. And if we learned anything this past season it is that gardening is essential! The demand will undoubtedly be there, and you have the product to meet that need. Just like any other year, you are tasked with selecting new products to add to your lineup (as well as older products to possibly drop). Trends change, consumer mindset evolves, new gardening needs emerge. That is why we put together this guide for you. We have attended breeders' webinars, collected literature, participated in Zoom meetings, watched videos, and compiled hundreds of emails and images to learn about all the new varieties entering the market. On the following pages, you'll find selections that deserve your attention as you plan for next year. Keep in mind, this is just a fraction of what the breeder companies are introducing this year. But we are confident in their beauty and performance. Check them out, and make 2021 the best year ever! www.facebook.com/gpnmag | www.twitter.com/gpnmag | www.instagram.com/gpnmag | www.linkedin.com/showcase/gpn-greenhouse-product-news/ 616.520.2162 jdolce@greatamericanpublish.com CONTENTS 20 6 30 Trendspotting into 2021 What trends are on the horizon that will resonate from retail to the garden? Up and Comers for Next Season and Beyond There is certainly no shortage of new varieties to choose from as you plan your production for next year. New Edible Varieties Homegrown garden vegetables, fruits and herbs continue to grow in popularity with consumers. Here are some new tasty crops you can add to diversify your product offering. 6 20 30 E D I T O R I A L Tim Hodson | Editorial Director 616.520.2161 • thodson@greatamericanpublish.com Jasmina Dolce | Editor 616.520.2162 • jdolce@greatamericanpublish.com Teresa McPherson | Retail Editor 616.520.2163 • tmcpherson@greatamericanpublish.com A D V E R T I S I N G Bob Bellew | Vice President, Group Publisher 616.520.2164 • bbellew@greatamericanpublish.com Kim Sammartino | Integrated Media Consultant 616.520.2173 • ksammartino@greatamericanpublish.com Tiffany O'Kelley | Integrated Media Consultant 616.520.2172 • tokelley@greatamericanpublish.com Samantha Orsi | Production Assistant 616.520.2148 • sorsi@greatamericanpublish.com Ball FloraPlant/Selecta One www.ballfloraplant.com www.selectanorthamerica.com ................................. 16-17 Benary www.benary.com ......................................................... 12-13 Hilverdaflorist B. V. www.hilverdaflorist.com ............................................ 26-27 Pacific Plug & Liner www.ppandl.com ........................................................ 22-23 PanAmerican Seed www.panamseed.com .................................................... 8-9 Suntory Flowers www.suntoryflowers.com .............................................. 4-5 A D V E R T I S E R I N D E X This index is provided as a reader service. The publisher does not assume responsibility for errors or omissions. S TA F F Corporate Office | 616.887.9008 Kristina Howell | Creative Director 616.520.2168 • khowell@greatamericanpublish.com Amanda Mackey | Multimedia Designer 616.520.2157 • amackey@greatamericanpublish.com Kim Meyers | Classified Advertising Manager 616.520.2137 • kmeyers@greatamericanpublish.com Becky Stovall | Audience Development 616.520.2138 • bstovall@greatamericanpublish.com Deb Carnes | CFO & Director of Human Resources 616.520.2169 • dcarnes@greatamericanpublish.com Matt McCallum | CEO mmccallum@greatamericanpublish.com

Articles in this issue

Links on this page

Archives of this issue

view archives of Greenhouse Product News - 2021 New Varieties Digital Guide