White Papers

Understanding OPNFV

Issue link: https://read.uberflip.com/i/1344850

Contents of this Issue


Page 108 of 144

Understanding OPNFV 108 Once a scenario is deployed by the installer, a variety of test cases are run against that scenario. These tests vary in terms of coverage, scope, tiers, purpose and frequency of testing. Both the test cases and the results are stored in a database. The database is connected to a number of visualization tools to view the results. As we have talked extensively, all these tests are part of the CI pipeline, and are run in a completely automated manner. Classification of Test Cases OPNFV test cases may be classified in a number of different ways: by coverage, scope, tier and purpose: Coverage The coverage of a test case can be end-to-end, be restricted to a single component or to a subsystem. Components tests cover individual items of the NFV stack such as OpenStack, NICs, ODL, VNFs, and so on. Subsystem (also called ETSI domains) tests can be the entire VIM, the storage aspect of the NFVI, a complete service consisting of VNFs (such as vIMS), and so on. End-to-end test cases cover all components of an entire scenario as a cohesive unit. Scope The scope of each test case is split into three broad categories: functional, performance and compliance. For now, there aren't enough stability or security tests in OPNFV, so these are bucketed with functional testing. As the emphasis on these areas increases, they could be broken out into their own categories. Test cases that cover OAM (operations, administration, management – including lifecycle management), longevity (how long an environment is stable), scale, and destructive testing are not in the OPNFV scope at this time. Tiers OPNFV has numerous test tiers that increase in complexity and reduce in frequency. Tier Example Frequency Trust Other Bottleneck & Qtip projects (see below) Non-recurring High

Articles in this issue

view archives of White Papers - Understanding OPNFV