SCORE Journal


SCORE Journal - The Official Publication of SCORE Off-Road Racing

Issue link:

Contents of this Issue


Page 5 of 105

BFGoodrich Tires: 44 Years At The SCORE Baja 1000 Making their presence at the 53rd BFGoodrich Tires SCORE Baja 1000 Presented by 4 Wheel Parts was BFGoodrich Tires, who has been a fixture at SCORE Baja races for more than four decades, and has a total of 97 overall wins in Baja. “This year was the 45th time (in 44-years) that BFGoodrich Tires has participated in the SCORE Baja 1000,” said Jeff Cummings at Michelin Tires. This SCORE Baja 1000 also marked the 40th anniversary of BFG Pits at SCORE races. BFGoodrich Tires’ first participation in the SCORE Baja 1000 was in 1976 with the company’s tires on two of the race’s competitors. The first was Fritz Kroyer in a Class 6 Oldsmobile and the other, Frank “Scoop” Vessels with his Ford F-100 in Class 8. In 1977, BFGoodrich Tires had its first full season in SCORE with Vessels taking two Class 8 wins on BFGoodrich tires. In 1979, Bob Gordon at the SCORE Mexicali 250, won BFGoodrich’s first overall four-wheel victory, followed by Bud Feldkamp and Malcolm Smith’s four-wheel victory at the 1979 SCORE Baja 500. Larry Roeseler Officially Breaks His Own Record With #14 After teaming up with Luke McMillin and winning the 53rd BFGoodrich Tires SCORE Baja 1000 Presented by 4 Wheel Parts, Larry Roeseler officially broke his own record of Overall SCORE Baja 1000 wins. Roeseler’s latest win is number 14, and he still holds the record for the most amount of overall wins in this race. Roeseler began competing in SCORE on motorcycles, earning his first win in 1976 on a Husqvarna, riding with Mitch Mayes. in 2004 Roeseler won his first SCORE Baja 1000 in a SCORE Trophy Truck with Troy Herbst. A total of 10 of his 14 Overall SCORE Baja 1000 wins are on motorcycles. This latest SCORE Trophy Truck win with McMillin also added to his number of class wins, bringing it to a total of 18, second only to Rod Hall who has 25 in this race. In the SCORE Baja 500, Roeseler also holds the record for the most amount of Overall wins at 11. SCORE International Updates 2021 Race Schedule After further review of the COVID-19 situation with government representatives, SCORE race officials have changed the dates for two of its four races in the 2021 SCORE World Desert Championship. The two races with new dates are the 34th SCORE San Felipe 250 which is now April 14-18, 2021, and the 53rd SCORE Baja 500 has been moved to June 9-13, 2021. The 2nd SCORE Baja 400 will still take place September 14-19, 2021, and the 54th SCORE Baja 1000 will take place November 15-20, 2021. The 2021 season-opener will once again be held in San Felipe. Two others will be held exclusively in Ensenada and the season-finale will be a peninsula run that starts in Ensenada and finishes in La Paz, Baja California Sur.

Articles in this issue

Archives of this issue

view archives of SCORE Journal - SCORE-Journal-December-2020