Score Journal - January 2015

SCORE Journal - The Official Publication of SCORE Off-Road Racing

Issue link:

Contents of this Issue


Page 9 of 85

W ith tight battles in races on both sides of the border, the 2014 SCORE racing season was capped with a memorable 47th Tecate SCORE Baja 1000, the iconic race that covered 1,275 miles of Mexico's majestic Baja California peninsula. It started in Ensenada, Baja California Norte and finished in La Paz, Baja California Sur. This year's race decided season overall and class point champions with competition in 25 Pro and five Sportsman classes for cars, trucks, UTVs, motorcycles and ATVs. These are some of the highlighted racers and teams that were crowned this year. MacCachren takes the Unlimited Trophy Truck win. The end of the 2014 season was capped off with a SCORE Baja 1000 Unlimited Trophy Truck victory for Rob MacCachren and the Rockstar Energy team of Andy McMillin and Jason Voss. MacCachren's strategy to utilize two additional, well experienced drivers, created a "Dream Team" of veteran Baja racers that had fans cheering them on. With each driver extensively pre-running the course with their own crews, the Rockstar Energy team flew through the course and was at one point, a full 25-minutes in the lead. MacCachren, McMillin and Voss definitely demonstrated that a team effort and experience plays an integral role in winning one of longest and toughest races in the desert. 2014 RACE RECAP SCORE BAJA 1000 010 SCORE JOURNAL ART EUGENIO

Articles in this issue

Archives of this issue

view archives of SCORE INTERNATIONAL - Score Journal - January 2015